In Defense Of Our Mothers

With the world celebrating Mother’s Day yesterday, I decided I should add my voice to the chorus of approval. Moms are awesome! And the superlative isn’t flippant, they truly are incredible. The capacity moms have to care, nurture, encourage, and cajole their families is seemingly endless. Simply put, moms love well.

How then, can I serve our mothers for their immense contribution? Perhaps I could wax lyrical about their wonderful ways, but Hallmark has that market cornered. I could post vibrant pictures of flowers and offer them as tribute, but the real things are so much better. Maybe I could post a personal letter to my own mother, but that would be more indulgent than personal. And then, suddenly and expectantly, inspiration struck—I would grant our mothers a biblical defense.

Moms are inclined (yes, this is a thoroughly unfair generalization) to make sweeping statements. Some of these sayings get scoffed at as being silly and are dismissed outright. My gift to our moms is to change all that. I am going to give biblical grounds for the things mothers say, so that the next time they speak, they have chapter and verse to add weight to their words. Here are some familiar sayings that have biblical grounding:

1. If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all.

“Reckless words pierce like a sword, but the tongue of the wise brings healing.” (Proverbs 12:18)

2. Act your age.

“When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put childish ways behind me.” (1 Corinthians 13:11)

3. Don’t look at me with that face.

“The eye that mocks a father, that scorns obedience to a mother, will be pecked out by the ravens of the valley, will be eaten by the vultures.” (Proverbs 30:17)

4. Life isn’t fair.

“A poor man’s field may produce abundant food, but injustice sweeps it away.” (Proverbs 13:23)

5. Are you going out dressed like that?

“Then out came a woman to meet him, dressed like a prostitute and with crafty intent.” (Proverbs 7:10)

6. Now say you’re sorry…and MEAN it!

“Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective.” (James 5:16)

7. You can’t judge a book by its cover.

“But the LORD said to Samuel, ‘Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The LORD does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.’” (1 Samuel 16:7)

8. You made your bed, now lie in it.

“Anyone who does wrong will be repaid for his wrong, and there is no favoritism.” (Colossians 3:25)

9. You’re going to put your eye out with that thing!

OK, there is no biblical support for this one, but they are going to lose an eye!

Clearly, much of our mother’s wisdom is God’s wisdom. Thank God that they are faithful to give voice to his truths. Personally, I want to thank my mom, Les Brandt for faithfully speaking proverbial truths to me. Those sayings took root even when I tried to drown them out with my foolishness. Indulgent to say it, but nevertheless true.

10 thoughts on “In Defense Of Our Mothers

  1. Thank you Eugene! At last validation that are not trying to annoy the offspring, merely speaking God’s truth into their lives. Now, don’t sit too close to the screen or you will go blind!

  2. one of my mother’s favorites was, “If it ain’t ticks, it’s fleas!” We often quote that to one another when negative things roll in in multiples. It makes us laugh and reminds us that whatever you can laugh at, you can live with!

  3. My mom liked, “Because I said so!” Only now, as a mom, can I appreciate that there are times a mother knows best but may not always be able to explain why in detail to her children. So thankful for my Godly mother!!

  4. Great post Eugene! I don’t need more sayings after this post. I think quoting Proverbs 30:17 should work just fine. What mom hasn’t gotten the “make me” look. Threats of eye plucking ravens sounds like a great parenting strategy. Thanks! :)

  5. Enjoyed this, Eugene! I heard this from my mom and used it in the car today, “Well if your friends told you to go jump off a bridge, would you do that too?”

    • That’s super popular, some moms prefer the similar, “run into a burning building”, but my mother went with the “jump off a cliff” version. Sadly, there were times when I was allowing myself to be overly influenced by wayward friends.

  6. This is great! I can’t wait to pass on to other moms!!! My personal favorite is, “look at me when I’m talking to you.” you have challenged me to find a biblical reference for that one! Have a great week!

  7. Well, somehow I missed this! good read! My mom’s anthem was always, “if you would just apply yourself….”. So true, so true! Can’t wait to say it to my kids. Ha!

Leave a Reply

