A Mother’s Prayer

Mother’s Day is almost upon us and the web is flooded with tributes to mothers. Some of it is soppy and overly sentimental, and I am left to wonder if the measure of success for such posts is the number of tears that fall. Not willing to be outdone, I have entered this crowded arena with a contribution of my own. Okay, it’s not original to me, but this is my blog so I get to speak in possessives.

I first heard the Getty’s perform at an event at Fellowship Bible Church in Nashville. Then they led the worship sessions at a conference I attended in Orlando. On both occasions I was impressed by their theologically robust lyrics and Kristyn’s tender heart. Then, this morning, I encountered this song and was reminded of the multitudes of mothers who pray for their children. Being one who was prayed for by his mother, I decided I would make this my tribute to moms.

To all those mothers who love their children through their prayers, thank you.

Leave a Reply

